Please join the editors of n+1 for theN Plus Ultra

Presenting the annual n+1 Writers’ Fellowship
& the inaugural Anthony Veasna So Fiction Prize

To be held digitally on Wednesday, May 26 at 7:30PM EST.

Hosted by Elif Batuman

The Awards

The n+1 Writers’ Fellowship is a $5,000 award granted annually to an outstanding print contributor whose writing captures the spirit of n+1 and has been an important part of the magazine’s evolution. Previous winners include: Kristin Dombek, Philip Connors, Bela Shayevich, A. S. Hamrah, and Elizabeth Schambelan.

2021 WINNER: Christina Nichol

Christina Nichol grew up in Northern California, and has taught English in South Korea, Russia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Kosovo, and the Republic of Georgia, where her satirical novel, Waiting for the Electricity, is set. The novel won a 2012 Rona Jaffe Writers Award and a gold medal in First Fiction at the 2015 California Book Awards. She received her MFA from the University of Florida and, in 2019, was a Fulbright Scholar in India.

Nichol has been a fellow at MacDowell, Seoul Art Space in South Korea, and Sozopol Fiction Literary Seminars in Bulgaria, a Philip Roth writer-in-residence at Bucknell University, and currently teaches environmental studies at Sonoma State University. She has published essays and stories in n+1, Harper’s, the Wall Street Journal, The Guardian, and many other publications.

The Anthony Veasna So Fiction Prize is a $5,000 award granted to an outstanding fiction writer whose work has appeared in n+1 magazine or on, the magazine’s online supplement. The award was created in 2021 in memory of beloved n+1 contributor Anthony Veasna So (1992–2020).

2021 WINNER: Trevor Shikaze

Trevor Shikaze was raised in suburban Burnaby, British Columbia, and currently lives in Vancouver. He taught himself to write while working as a salesclerk at a family-run bookstore in Alberta. Since his first publication nearly a decade ago, his fiction has appeared in n+1, The Baffler, The Walrus, and many other literary journals in the US, the UK, and Canada.

He has received provincial and federal grants to support his writing from the Alberta Foundation for the Arts, the British Columbia Arts Council, and the Canada Council for the Arts. The 2021 Anthony Veasna So Fiction Prize is his first award.





About n+1

n+1 was founded in New York City in 2004 by six young writers and editors who wanted to revive the American tradition of politically engaged literary magazines. At the time, the intellectual scene felt fragmented and drained of vitality: political magazines didn’t care about literature, literary magazines didn’t discuss politics, and big ideas had to be buried in tiny book reviews. The founding editors wanted to make a magazine that could encompass all the subjects they cared about—one that didn’t shy away from difficult and ambitious writing, and that saw literature, politics, and culture as belonging to the same project.

Seventeen years later, n+1 has “established itself as the bellwether of a new generation of literary intellectuals” (Harper’s). It has published dozens of book-length magazines, hundreds of online-only pieces, and a handful of critically acclaimed books, as well as programmed countless readings, panels, and events across New York City. Its editorial mission remains to encourage writers—new and established—to take themselves as seriously as possible, to write with as much energy and daring as possible, and to connect their own deepest concerns with the broader social and political environment.

An island of hope in a sea of inanity

Nancy Fraser

So many good writers have come tumbling out of that small journal in the past few years that it’s begun to resemble an intellectual clown car

The New York Times


If you'd like to become a sponsor of the 2021 n+1 Writers Awards Ceremony,
please contact Dani Oliver at